Weekend DIY – Family Inspired Wall Grouping

My walls and every free surface in my home are covered with photos of my family. I have numerous pictures of our parents, children, and grandchildren, as well as nieces and nephews. There are even a few pictures of my husband and I. (I hate pictures of myself.)

Inspired by several Pinterest pins, I wanted to do a grouping that was family inspired, but not necessarily pictures of family. And, I wanted it to do it cheaply. I was able to complete the grouping below for approximately $30.00. And, I think it’s fabulous.

image

First, I got the 3 foot long Pottery Barn shelf for $5.00 off a community resale site. There were a few nicks in the black paint which we filled in with black permanent marker pen. The nicks are now totally invisible. This shelf was so easy to hang that I might even have been willing to pay full-price for it. (Nah…only kidding.)

For the next step, I was inspired by Whitney at the Shabby2Chic blog. (http://www.shanty-2-chic.com/2011/11/letter-photo-art-for-christmas.html).

image

Whitney did a craft of her children’s name which she called “Letter Photo Art”. She got frames at the dollar store, painted them an off white and removed the glass and backing. She added the letter art in the frames and mounted them on a board she painted pink. That’s pretty simple. But, the best part is where she got the letter art. Whitney found a GREAT flickr photo site by Leo Reynolds. He has posted hundreds of photos of each and every letter. You can access the site by going to the following link: http://www.flickr.com/photos/lwr/collections/72157594587080023/. Leo has offered his letter art for free as long as it’s used for non-commercial purposes. Thank you, Leo!!

So, I took Whitney’s idea and did the following grouping of frames:

image

“Raub” is our last name. I purchased the 4″ X 6″ black frames at Walmart for $1.97 each. Like Whitney, I decided to go with the black/white/grey color scheme for my letters. And, I also uploaded the letters to my computer and then sent them off to Walgreen’s photo department. Total cost for the glossy prints was 20 cents each or a total of 80 CENTS!!

Just an aside note, Whitney and I decided to go with the monochrome colors for our letters, but, there are letters available in every color and font, as well as upper and lower case.

When I bought the frames, I also found the following plaque at Walmart for only $6.00.

image

 And the following plaque came from the Family Christian Store for half-price at $9.00. I wanted there to be a spiritual quote or symbol in the grouping because that is very important to us as a family.

image

Lastly, I found the following moveable wall sticker at the Dollar Store! I thought it tied everything together.

image

So here is the entire grouping again. I hope this inspires you to do something for your own family.

image

Leave a Reply

